The recommended tour lasts approximately 3 hours and has a length of 3.5 km.

More information

  • Considerations about the Tour for People with Disabilities

    Adapted resources and tours have been arranged to facilitate access to people with disabilities and still more will be implemented in the near future

  • Planning the Visit

    The usual tour is 3.5 km long and it takes 3 hours to visit the 3 areas of the Monumental complex

  • Map of the Complex

    The complex is divided into three areas: the Fortress, the Nasrid Palaces and the Generalife, included in the different tours

  • Information Request

    Find customised data visiting the offices of the Patronato, calling the information telephone or filling up the form


The Monumental complex consists of three differentiated areas that can be visited permanently throughout the year:

The Alcazaba fortress

In addition to being one of the oldest parts of the Alhambra, it is the military area of the complex in which the following areas can be visited: the Terrace of the Torre del Cubo, the Adarve of the North Wall, the Square of Arms (that includes the Military District ), the Terrace of the Gate of Arms, the Tower of the Vela and the Garden of the Adarves.

Nasrid Palaces

This is the most famous and visited zone of the Monumental complex; it is formed by three palaces, each one built in a different time.

Palace of the Mexuar: It is the oldest palace; here you can visit the Room, the Oratorio, the Golden Hall and the Patio of the Mexuar.

Palace of Comares: It was the official residence of the Sultan and the place where the throne hall was located. Here are the Patio of the Arrayanes, the hall of the Ship and the Ambassadors Hall.

Palace of the Lions: Considered as the summit of Nasrid art, it includes the Room of the Muqarnas, the Court of the Lions, the Room of the Abencerrajes, the Room of the Kings, the Room of Two Sisters, the Room of the Ajimeces and the Observation Point of Daraxa.

In addition to the three palaces, this area includes other rooms of singular importance:

Rooms of the Emperor: They were built when Charles V decided to settle in Granada and soon were occupied by Washington Irving. In this area you can visit the Viewpoint, the Patio of the Grated window and the Garden of Lindaraja.

The Partal: This area includes the Porch of the Palace, the Gardens and Strolls, the Rauda, the Palace of Yusuf III and the Promenade of the Towers.

Given the special characteristics of the Nasrid Palaces and to ensure suitable conditions of perception and enjoyment, the Council of the Alhambra and the Generalife has established a maximum limit of capacity in this area of 300 people each half an hour. Therefore, admission ticket of the Monument shows the period of 30 minutes established to visit the Nasrid Palaces.

The Generalife

The Generalife became a recreation area for Granada’s monarchs when they wanted to flee from the official life of palace.

It includes the Low Gardens, the Palace of the Generalife and the High Gardens.



The recommended tour is the following:

1. The Alcazaba – The Nasrid Palaces - The Generalife.

2. The Nasrid Palaces - The Fortress - The Generalife.

3. The Generalife - The Fortress - The Nasrid Palaces.

In any case, the order of the visit to the three areas will be determined by the time to visit the Nasrid Palaces printed on the admission ticket. It is recommended to visit also other places of great interest within the Monumental complex such as:


  • Gate of Justice
  • Presentation Room
  • Palace of Charles V
  • Museum of the Alhambra
  • Museum of Fine Arts
  • Area of the month
  • The Royal Street
  • Museum of Ángel Barrios


Visitors must know that the Council of the Alhambra and the Generalife shall modify any route for safety and conservation of the Monument reasons or due to the celebration of other events when considered appropriate.