Strolling through the medina artisan industry quarter, visitors can see the remains of houses and shops with kilns.

For your interest


Access to the Alhambra is through the medina artisanal industry quarter, traditionally known as Secano or Dryland. The trajectory includes an archaeological tour of the Royal Canal’s start at the Aqueduct, the remains of shops with kilns, tanneries, and houses, as well as the inner wall, with its turrets that were partially destroyed when Napoleon’s troops abandoned the premises in 1812.

On this archaeological tour of the Upper Alhambra the visitor will see from outside the wall one of four gates, the main one, known as the Gate of the Seven Floors.

The Upper Alhambra offers a panoramic view of the Sierra Nevada mountain range towering above it, and the Cerro del Sol mountain, a natural rearguard defence fortress.

A stroll through this area will take the visitor past a wood of cypress trees trimmed in the 1930s in the shape of arches, and gardens nearby from the same era.

Among the cypress tree arches, on the right is a partial view of the Monastery of San Francisco, built in the 16th century over a small Muslim palace, which today is a Parador Nacional, or state-owned hotel.

A bit lower, on the left, are the remains of various Nasrid houses, which were discovered in the 1930s by the architect Leopoldo Torres Balbás.